Trans Pilots Allowed to Fly: FAA Updates Medical Requirements

The FAA has released new medical certification procedures for trans pilots, eliminating unnecessary psychological testing that had previously been required. Going forward, medical certification for transgender pilots will require only submitting current clinical records together with an evaluation from a psychiatrist or psychologist, as well as a report on any surgery (if applicable). The new requirements are listed in a new section of the agency’s Aviation Medical Examiner Guide, which can be found here.

The FAA requires that all pilots receive medical and psychological clearance to fly, and these procedures can be quite demanding. However, in recent years many transgender pilots had been required to undergo an expensive, burdensome and unnecessary battery of psychological tests including personality, projective and intelligence tests and others. Many transgender pilots were grounded due to such requirements and some even lost their jobs. While the FAA is understandably wary of any potential safety risk, requiring all these tests just because a person is transgender simply didn’t make medical sense.

The National Center for Transgender Equality would like to thank Drs. George Brown and Randall Ehrbar for their expertise as well as the FAA, the Obama Administration, the Transgender Law Center, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, and Representatives Mike Honda and Barney Frank for their work on this issue. NCTE will continue to monitor this issue to ensure the new procedures are implemented in a fair and sensible way.

17 Responses to Trans Pilots Allowed to Fly: FAA Updates Medical Requirements

  1. E. Athena Day says:

    Barney Frank did something helpful for the trans community? I don’t believe it. Literally, I don’t. He may have been in the room but I need solid evidence he added any constructive to the conversation before I accept that miserable old bastard has changed his transphobic ways.

    • Daniel Norvell says:

      I think taht it might be good to look at Barnneys Frank full staff and one who happens to be Transgender FTM who is extremely active in Barneys behalf and the transgender community and understands how to get things done!

  2. […] The FAA has eliminated unnecessary, burdensome psychological testing requirements for trans pilots, eliminating a major barrier to their ability to fly. […]

  3. […] honky-tonk in Texas: “For a good time call Mary Gonzalez.”UPDATE: In related news: FAA AC/DC A-OK! (The National Center for Transgender Equality? The question arises: Equal to what? I mean, you were […]

  4. […] FAA has eliminated the psychological testing requirement for trans pilots.  Now we will take over THE […]

  5. […] The FAA requires thorough medical and psychological clearance of all pilots before they are allowed to fly. But trans pilots in particular were previously required to undergo additional psychological tests such as personality, projective, and intelligence tests, according to the National Center for Transgender Equality. […]

  6. […] psychological tests such as personality, projective, and intelligence tests, according to the National Center for Transgender Equality.” Read more here Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  7. […] The National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE), who worked closely with Representatives Barney Frank and Mike Honda together with the FAA to bring about this change, said in a posting on its website: […]

  8. […] American Federal Aviation Administration has eliminated unnecessary psychological testing that had previously been required for trans […]

  9. Brenda says:

    Gee here on Canada I’ve been flying as a corp pilot for two years woth not havong to go through that.

  10. […] Psychological DataStandardizationSharing is love, my love never dies it gains another perspective.Trans Pilots Allowed to Fly: FAA Updates Medical Requirements .recentcomments a{display:inline !important;padding:0 !important;margin:0 […]

  11. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been
    using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts
    into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!http://www.
    pitchero.com/clubs/planodeth/news/watch-the-good-wife-online-sea-748231.
    html

  12. We stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking at your web page
    yet again.Vegas Season 1 Episode 5

  13. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think
    I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad
    for me. I am looking forward for your next post,
    I will try to get the hang of it!http://storify.com/DanaDHenry2345/watch-it-online-the-league-season-4-episode-4-for

  14. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my web site so i came to go back the prefer?
    .I am attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its adequate to make
    use of some of your ideas!!Dexter Season 7 Episode 6 Do the Wrong
    Thing

  15. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment
    form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!Watch The Inbetweeners (US) Season
    1 Episode 12 The Dance Online Free Stream

  16. Franziska says:

    How long did it acquire u to compose “Trans
    Pilots Allowed to Fly: FAA Updates Medical Requirements | National Center for Transgender Equality’s Blog”?
    It boasts a bunch of really good info. Thx ,Twyla

Leave a comment